top of page

More ancient than the mountains

Greek Rock Lizards Hellenolacerta graeca, are endemic Lacertids of Peloponnisos, the southernmost peninsula of mainland Greece. They are among those gems for which Peloponnisos is renowned. And even for a resident of this place, like myself, it is always a joy to observe them, let alone find them in places where it was not known that they existed before.

I live near Patras, a city at the north-west part of Peloponnisos, belonging to Achaia prefecture. Some years before, the Greek Rock Lizard was not known from any place in Achaia prefecture. The lizard is common to the south of Peloponnisos, where can be observed by the sea, and also common in places of the central region of the peninsula. But going north, one sees that the places to find this animal are getting scarce.

Anytime I wanted to see one, I had to take a road trip of 2 or more hours to the south. But I was curious if the rugged mountain Erymanthos that I see from my home, was hiding some of them. I had searched for them some times, in various places, but no success. One day in May 2016, after having studied the maps of the area, I went for the southernmost tip of Achaia, south of Erymanthos Mt, to a many-a-lizard promising place. It was almost failure, for after the whole day searching, I was forced to leave the place without seeing a single specimen. And there, just as I was leaving, in the middle of the road was a lizard. And yes, it was Hellenolacerta graeca. My joy was overwhelming. At least, I knew there were Greek Rock Lizards in Achaia too. But again, this was one and a half hour from my home.


the first record for Achaia prefecture, this beauty was basking on an asphalt road

I was looking mountain Erymanthos, a 2224 metres tall, very steep mountain, every day from my window. And every day I was wandering if there were any of these lizards north of this very high mountain. Some excursions with friend Elias Tzoras to the north yielded no results. In April 2017, friend Alexis Panagiotopoulos, found one animal at the southern slope of Erymanthos, and then another one more to the south. Alexis has a very intimate relationship with this area, studying it for a scientific project and searching it very intensively. Again, he found only 3-4 places with 1 or two individuals every time, in 3 years. It was clearly a difficult animal with sparse populations there. And the question remained: where any animals to the north of the very high mountain?


A Greek Rock Lizard from the south of mountain Erymanthos

It was April 2021 when I proposed to friends Olga Tzortzakaki and Giorgos Iliopoulos to have a day-trek in a place where we would walk in prime habitat for the Greek Rock Lizards. The place was to the north of mountain Erymanthos and only 1/2 hour from my home. When we reached the place and left the car, within 10 minutes we came along a very small lizard, dark, exactly like an Algyroides moreoticus. You can imagine my exhilaration when I saw from within the camera, that it was a Greek Rock Lizard.


Typical habitat, the very steep north slopes of the tall mountain Erymanthos


The critter did not stay long, it vanished inside a small bush after 5 seconds, never to be seen again. But I was over the top, it was the first time that I had found the species north of Erymanthos, and so near to my home. And of course, if it was here, I would find all its relatives, right? Well, searching all day long, walking all day long, this small immature individual, was the only Hellenolacerta we saw that day.


This small Greek Rock Lizard, was the first record north of mountain Erymanthos. The animal was very shy, and didn't allow me to get close. This photo was all that I managed that day, but it was a proof.

We left the place with joy, having found the species, but disappointed having not found more animals. Yet, we walked much and found many other species.


Podarcis peloponnesiacus, male

Testudo hermanni

Female Lacerta trilineata

Podarcis peloponnesiacus female

Algyroides moreoticus, male

Pair of Podarcis muralis, basking together

Juvenile Lacerta trilineata

Egg mass of Rana graeca, inside a stream

Juvenile Hierophis gemonensis

After this initial discovery, I was determined to find more animals. I wanted to make some decent photos as well. So, two weeks after the discovery, I started alone, to search again the place. After all, it was very close to my home and it was full Spring. Oh, how innocent I was! After going again to that specific spot, nothing. After searching all the slope, nothing. After searching all day long, after searching everything that would be worth searching, absolutely nothing. I got back home empty-handed. I started to think that I had made a wrong identification in the first place and the small lizard was indeed an Algyroides. Fortunately, there was that one photo. The lizards were somewhere there, and we had to find them.

So we started again, with friend Alexis Panagiotopoulos, to find them. Passing from the first spot, there was nothing there. I thought how lucky we were the first time, we could have seen nothing. Passing from a big plane tree, our luck suddenly changed. There, on a rock, a Greek Rock Lizard was basking and slowly coming our way.


First sighting, the lizard was moving our way

The same relaxed animal, closer

It was a pair living there, sharing the plane tree with Algyroides moreoticus and a sheepish Bufo bufo.


Hellenolacerta graeca in habitat

Closer, in rocky terrain, under plane tree

portrait of Hellenolacerta graeca, all photos in situ

Male Algyroides moreoticus living on the same plane tree

Bufo bufo sharing the same tree with the lizards

Blending in with the tree and the dappled light

As the lizard came to this spot to catch the sun, I saw the toad inside a hollow

Again, lizard and toad peacefully co-existing

Hellenolacerta graeca, at the northernmost spot ever found. What a privilege to have them so close.

123 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

bottom of page